Reminiscing simpler times…

I am currently re-reading Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte and I always seem to forget how simply beautiful the writing of that era was, mid-1800s to be specific. Charlotte Bronte grew up in much simpler times and the details in her writing of the gardens, changing seasons, and mansions are so intricate. I guess I just had an epiphany while reading the book for the second time, that I was reading the writing of an individual who was uncorrupted by the modern thoughts and distractions of today’s life.

The way she pays attention to each minute detail of her surroundings is astounding and this kind of detail is what lacks in a lot of contemporary novels today. The simple romanticism of the human condition that was so prevalent in classic novels is now lost somewhere in fantasies of the supernatural and mundane teenage romances. Jane Eyre is a beautiful work of art and always seems to amaze me, no matter how many times I read it.

So, fellow booksters heed my message and put down Hunger Games for just a minute and pick up a classic, you won’t regret it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment